Industry Insights

Singapore opens borders to China, Australia's Victoria from Nov 6

Posted on 10/11/2020 by Paula Formantes


What other travel arrangements do S'pore have?

Singapore is doing its best to accommodate travel arrangements from selected countries despite the Covid-19 pandemic. China and Victoria in Australia are the latest additions to the list of countries that Singapore is unilaterally opening its borders to, this is to ensure a slew of measures to reopen Singapore’s borders and revive the Changi air hub.

The other locations include:

  1. Unilateral opening of boarders to travelers from:
  1. Brunei
  2. New Zealand
  3. Vietnam
  4. Australia
  5. Mainland China

Singapore gave a standing invitation to these countries which have comprehensive public health surveillance systems and successfully controlled the spread of Covid-19.

  1. Bilateral green lane arrangements: (essential travel for business or official purposes between both countries).
  1. Japan
  2. China
  3. South Korea
  4. Malaysia
  5. Brunei
  6. Indonesia
  7. Germany
  8. Thailand and Hong Kong are still in discussion.

With China being the first country to establish a green lane from Singapore, this arrangement presently applies to 6 provinces: Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing, Guangdong, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang.

In addition to that, Malaysia is under 2 schemes- the Reciprocal Green Lane and the Periodic Commuting Arrangement.

  1. Air Travel Bubbles
  1. Hong Kong

The first 2-way air travel bubble, paving the way for leisure and other forms of travel between both places. This means no quarantine when travelling between these 2 locations, subject to conditions, including testing negative for Covid-19. Details are still not confirmed.

Let us all work practice safe distancing to curb Covid-19 to enable even more countries and facilities to be open for business!

For more information on job availabilities, please contact +65 6334 4328 or email at